johnwood1946

New Brunswick History and Other Stuff

Phillips Family Pictures from a Collection; Rusagonis, N.B.

with 4 comments

By JohnWood1946@hotmail.com

Sherman Salethial Phillips (1857–1945) and Margaret E. Nason (1865–1948) were two of my great grandparents. Their daughter Addie was my mother’s mother. Sherman and Margaret lived inRusagonis, New Brunswick all of their lives and had a family of fifteen children including Della, Reuben, Carrie, Helen, Lula (Lu), Edna, Vesta, Elizabeth (Lizzie), Lorne, Sherman, Adeline (Addie), Samuel, Floyd, Thelma and Margaret.

Grandmother Addie returned to live with her parents after her husband, Abner Mersereau, died in 1912, and my mother regarded this family almost as brothers and sisters. This is an affectionate remembrance of people that I knew and I am therefore breaking my usual practice of not including more recent generations in this blog.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

John Phillips, 1829/31 – 1901 and Eunice Ann Smith, ca. 1837 – 1900

John and Eunice were the parents of Sherman Salethial Phillips. John was a son of Zopher Bedford Phillips Jr. and Mahitable Dunphy; and Eunice was a daughter of John Smith and Frances Amelia Smith. The image is from a charcoal portrait in my possession and is from about 1890 to 1900.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Sherman and Margaret E. (Nason) Phillips, and family

Back row from left to right: Elizabeth (Lizzie), Helen, Margaret (mother), Sam, Sherman, Lula, Thelma and Lorne.

Front row from left to right: Della, Vesta, Sherman (father), Margaret, Addie, and Edna.

This photograph was produced in around 2000 from an original (circa 1945) that did not include Lorne. Lorne was added digitally, and Edna appears to have been altered or moved.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Sherman Salethial Phillips (1857–1945) and Margaret E. Nason (1865–1948)

This picture is likely from around 1940. Margaret had had rubella which accounts of her loss of hair.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Addie Phillips on the left, 1892 – 1955; and Vesta Phillips on the right

Two of Sherman and Margaret’s daughters, ca. 1933.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Margaret E. Phillips, ca. 1910 – 1988

A daughter of Sherman and Margaret (Nason)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Sherman Phillips

A son of   Sherman (Sr.) and Margaret

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 

Addie Phillips seated, 1892 – 1955; and Lula Phillips standing

Two of Sherman and Margaret’s daughters, ca. 1955.

 x x x x x x x x x x x x x x

 Another Phillips Photograph:

 Jeremiah Phillips 1858 – 1925, and his wife Phoebe DeWitt 1859 – ____

Jeremiah was a son of Aaron Phillips and Mary Ann Nason

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 

Written by johnwood1946

November 2, 2011 at 3:33 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi , Thank you for your post on the Phillips family. My 4th great-grandfather was Zopher Bedford Phillips jr’s brother David Phillips. Your picture of Jeremiah I have a copy of who is my 2nd great-grandfathers first cousin. I look forward to all of your posts! Thank you, Uriah Phillips

    Uriah Phillips

    November 2, 2011 at 9:00 PM

  2. I decided to look up things in Rusagonis since I lived there and it was neat to see these pictures of my family, we actually have the original one of John Philips and Eunice Ann Smith in my living room! We have a few more framed on our walls here and more pictures at my grandparents house since John Gilmore, my grandfather is the son or Sherman (Son of Sherman Sr. and Margaret) I guess I never realized how many family member I have out there =) nice to see other family members and find out the names of John and Eunice’s children

    Lisa Doten (Granddaughter of John Gilmore Phillips)

    October 21, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    • Hello Lisa, Nice to hear from you and thank you for your comments. I knew Sherman, son of Sherman and husband of Ethel, when I was a boy. He was especially well known for being good with children. He had a special way of not ‘speaking down’ to them. I also have an original charcoal portrait of John and Eunice. I had no idea that there were more than one of them.

      johnwood1946

      October 21, 2012 at 3:55 PM


Leave a Reply

